AIB GAA & Camogie Club Championships Talking Points, 15th/16th October 2016

Rathdowney-Errill playing hurling

Borris-Kilcotton v Rathdowney-Errill

A battle of amalgamations. Borris-In-Ossory and Kilcotton had to let go of storied pasts in order to rubberstamp their coming-together in early 2011. But Borris hadn’t been in a final since 1978, hadn’t won a title since ‘72, while Kilcotton had to go back to the ‘20s for glory.

Trialled originally at juvenile level, the combination won two Minor and Under-16 ‘A’ championships, as well as contesting an Under-21 'A' final, meaning the locals were convinced. Almost a decade earlier, the teams had come together as St Ciaran’s in 2002, and in the same year they faced off in an intermediate final. This time they’ve stayed together for good and adopted the striking green, white and red shirts. After losing the final to Camross in 2013, Borris-Kilcotton thought they had the drawn final won until Rathdowney-Errill’s Ross King sent it to a replay. The latter are looking to seal a sixth Laois title since their amalgamation in 2005.

Ballyhaunis v Tooreen

The Higgins brothers played midfield together when Ballyhaunis retained their Mayo SHC title 12 months ago. Mayo football star Keith scored six points, including four frees, along the way while his 39-year-old sibling Pierce played his part. Between them, they have collected a total of 18 county hurling titles, though two of Pierce’s 11 were won while playing for their rivals. Tooreen have collected a record 27 finals and are nicknamed the Blue Devils.


St Kiernan’s v Tir Chonaill Gaels

St Kiernan’s is a senior and underage club based in North West London and use the Mill Hill Rugby Club as their training ground. The club was founded in 1984 and originally based in St Anthony’s parish in Edgware, at which stage they trained in Blundell Park. In 1988, Kiernan’s moved to the Montrose playing fields in Burnt Oak after agreeing with the London Borough of Barnet that they would top-soil the pitch at a cost (£27,000) borne solely by the clubs members to be fully repaid within three years. After losing the final to Tir Chonaill Gaels in 2015, St Kieranan’s are hoping to deny their rivals a 17th crown.

Ballybrown v Patrickswell

This will be the first final for Ballybrown since 1995 – when they were beaten by Patrickswell — a rival they have lost to three times down the years. Cian Lynch is the main man for the ‘Well, though he could easily have gone down the route of soccer. He has represented Mungret in Limerick and St Kevin’s Boys in Dublin in the past, as well as spending some time with West Brom. When he was on a family holiday in Dubai aged 12, he showed curious Chelsea footballer John Terry the basics of hurling beside a swimming pool.

Coalisland v Killyclogher

After drawing their Tyrone final on October 9, these two teams readied themselves for a replay last weekend but were let down by a waterlogged pitch. Several pumps and groundsmen at Healy Park in Omagh went to work on the morning of the game but no no avail. Should the pitch remain unplayable this Friday, a Plan B has been arranged for the game to then move to Pairc Colmcille in Carrickmore.


Loughgiel Shamrocks (Antrim) v Slaughtneil (Derry)

This past weekend, Slaughtneil become only the third Derry club to complete a historic three-in-a-row of senior football championships, after Bellaghy and Ballinderry. This weekend they have an Ulster club hurling final against 2012 All-Ireland champions Loughgiel, before a week later taking on Derrygonnelly of Fermanagh in a provincial football quarter-final. Eight Slaughtneil players featured in both county final wins: Brendan Rogers, Chrissy and Karl McKaigue, Paul McNeill, Shane McGuigan, Meehaul McGrath, Se McGuigan and Cormac O'Doherty.

Cratloe v Kilmurry-Ibrickane

Incredibly, both Clare finals went to replays. The meeting of Clonlara and Ballyea on Sunday last was preceded by a minute’s silence for Killaloe native Anthony Foley, the Munster and Ireland rugby icon.

AIB GAA & Camogie Club Championships Fixtures

Friday 21 October

Tyrone SFC final replay

Coalisland v Killyclogher, Healy Park, 7.30pm

Sunday 23 October

Cavan SFC final replay

Castlerahan v Ramor United, Breffni Park, 3pm

Clare SFC final replay

Cratloe v Kilmurry-Ibrickane, Cusack Park, TBC

Galway SFC final

Corofin v Salthill-Knocknacarra, Pearse Stadium, 3:30pm

London SFC final

St Kiernan’s v Tir Chonaill Gaels, Greenford, 3pm

Roscommon SFC final

Padraig Pearses v St Brigid's, Kiltoom, 3:30pm

AIB Ulster club SHC final

Loughgiel Shamrocks (Antrim) v Slaughtneil (Derry), Athletic Grounds, 2.30pm

Laois SHC final replay

Borris-Kilcotton v Rathdowney-Errill, O'Moore Park, 4pm

Limerick SHC final

Ballybrown v Patrickswell, Gaelic Grounds, 3.30pm

Mayo SHC final

Ballyhaunis v Tooreen, Tooreen, 3pm

Meath SHC final

Killyon v Kiltale, Pairc Tailteann, 3.30pm

Offaly SHC final

Birr v St Rynagh's, O'Connor Park, 3pm

Westmeath SHC final

Clonkill v Raharney, Cusack Park, 3:30pm

AIB Ulster club JHC semi-final

Lamh Dearg v Inniskeen, Dungannon, 2:30pm

AIB Leinster IFC round one

St Brigid’s (Longford) v O’Dempseys (Laois), Glennon Bros Pearse Park, 2pm

Arklow Geraldines Ballymoney (Wicklow) v Taghmon Camross (Wexford), Pearses Park Arklow, 2pm

St Joseph’s (Louth) v St Andrew’s (Carlow), Louth Venue, 2pm

Railyard (Kilkenny) v Cappincur (Offaly), Castlecomer 2pm

AIB Leinster JFC quarter-finals

Kilcullen (Kildare) v St. Patrick’s (Carlow), Newbridge, 1.30pm

Bracknagh (Offaly) v Ashford (Wicklow), Bracknagh, 2pm

Bective (Meath) v Rosenallis (Laois), Meath Venue 2pm