AIB Club Championships: Results, previews and all next weekends fixtures

21 November 2016; Kilcoo' livewire forward Conor Laverty, left, pictured alongside Slaughtneil captain Chris McKaigue ahead of the AIB GAA Ulster Senior Football Club Championship Final on Sunday 27th November.

Former and current soccer stars come to the fore this weekend. One has enjoyed spells withEvertonand Derry City, while another is doing this thing with LimerickFC. Meanwhile a Derry man is hoping to lead a Down side into uncharted territory.

Mullinalaghta(Longford) v St Vincent's (Dublin)

The size of the task facingMullinalaghtacannot be underestimated. They’re against a St Vincent’s outfit that has won 28 Dublin titles and is chasing a seventh provincial title. They have county stars such asDiarmuidConnolly, Tomas Quinn and Ger Brennan, while Mayo’sEndaVarley,LorcanSmythofWestmeathand formerGalwayplayerFiachraBreathnachhave all bolstered the ranks this year — the latter duo at times remaining as unused subs. Meanwhile theLongfordparish has a population of around 450 people, a primary school with 39 children, and just 31 players to choose from between their senior and junior panels.

SeanO'Mahonys(Louth) v Rhode (Offaly)

Ben McLaughlin has been a huge part of Sean O’Mahonys run to theLeinstersemi-final but the 21-year-old wasn’t even in the fold when they won an intermediate provincial title in 2014. That’s because he was midway through a three-year spell as a defender withEvertonFC, and at the time enjoying a successful loan spell withTelfordUnited. He then joined up with Derry CityFCand was caught playing for hisGAAclub when their match was shown live on TV. This is his first year playing fully with the senior O’Mahonys side and he helped them to a first ever senior title.Offalychampions Rhode have greater experience at this level and a standout forward in NiallMcNameewho is expected to lead them to theLeinsterfinal.


DrCrokes(Kerry) v TheNire(Waterford)

Six members of theCrokesteam have played senior football for Kerry in the past couple of seasons, and a number of them have led the Kingdom out as captain.ColmCooper,EoinBrosnan,FionnFitzgerald andKieranO’Leary (joint captains 2014, lifting Sam) have all had the honour — and it helps that their manager Pat O’Shea also led Kerry to September glory in 2007. He was also in charge whenCrokesbeat TheNirein the 2006 Munster final. The Waterford club boast plenty of county stars too in Tom and Brian Wall, ThomasO'Gorman, LiamLawlor, Shane Walsh and JamesMcGrath. Factor in those who are stars of theDeisehurling side — All star Jamie Barron and starlet ConorGleeson— and you understand why they should not be underestimated against the Kerry giants.

Adare(Limerick) vKenmare(Kerry)

Two points from LimerickFCplayer Shane Costello helped propelAdareinto the Munster football final — where they hope to become the first Treaty side ever to win this competition. Only twice have Limerick teams ever been to the final (StSenansin 2003 andPallasgreenin 2005) so the omens aren’t great against Kerry’sKenmare. Two of Adare’s players,DiarmuidSexton and Andrew O’Connell, also played for the club in the 2008 Munster clubSHC- losing to Waterford’s De LaSalle, 1-9 to 0-10. They will have their work cut out for them against a side that contains Kerry experience in Paul O’Connor and reigning All-Ireland minor captain Sean O’Shea.

Slaughtneil(Derry) vKilcoo(Down)

BrianMcIverended Donegal’s record of 13 consecutive final defeats in a row in 2007 when he led the county to a Division 1 league title win over Mayo. His son Paul is now hoping to leadKilcooout of the Ulster darkness for the first time, though this is just their second final ever after losing toCrossmaglenRangers in 2012. ConorLavertyis the kingpin of the five-in-a-row Down champions, but inSlaughtneilthey come up against a team chasing an Ulster football-hurling double. The Derry champions beat McIver’s native club,Ballinderry, in the county semi-final and he will have an intimate knowledge of the side. TheKilcooboss previously led the Oak Leafers’ Under-21s and minors, not to mention Tyrone senior sideDromore. The odds are with the double-chasers.


Brigid's (Roscommon) vCorofin(Galway) Live on TG4

When the sides met in the 2011 Connacht final, referee Liam Devenney flashed his yellow card on 15 occasions during St Brigid's tempestuous win. Five years before that, in 2006, Corofin had the title all but won until Karol Mannion mashed a 30-yard thunderbolt into the top-corner of the net in the third minute of injury time. Former Galway hurling manager Anthony Cunningham was manager of the Roscommon outfit at the time, on a day when both sides finished with 14 men. Tribal county star man Gary Sice expects an open, flowing game but history suggests that sparks could fly.

Johnstownbridge(Kildare) vScariffOgonnelloe(Clare) Live on

This will be a battle of the big guns. In 2013,Scariff-Ogonnelloejust fell short toMyshallin the All-Ireland final whileJohnstownbridgeare the reigning champions. TheKildareside will need to keep tabs on RachelMinoguewho scored a hat-trick in the space of ten minutes againstArmaghside O’Connell’sTullysaranin the semi-final. TheLilywhitesteam are looking to retain their title and emulate the feat ofMyshall(Carlow), Harps (Laois) andLiatroimFontenoys(Down).

AIB GAA & Camogie Club Championships Fixtures and Results, 26th & 27th November 2016


Saturday 19 November

All-Ireland club JHC quarter-final

Calry-St Joseph's (Sligo) 2-12 Fullen Gaels (Britain) 0-9

Munster club IHC final

Lismore (Waterford) 2-14 Kilmoyley (Kerry) 0-13

Munster Club JFC Semi-Finals

Glenbeigh-Glencar (kerry) 1-13 Gerald Griffins (Limerick) 0-6

Gabriel Rangers (Cork) 1-12 Clonoulty Rossmore (Tipperary) 1-4

Leinster club JFC final

Rosenallis (Laois) 1-11 Bracknagh (Offaly) 1-8

Leinster IHC semi-finals

Celbridge (Kildare) 0-15 Bray Emmets (Wicklow) 0-13

Carrickshock (Kilkenny) 2-12 Kiltale (Meath) 2-9

Leinster JHC semi-final

Mooncoin (Kilkenny) 2-11 St Oliver Plunketts (Westmeath) 0-7

Sunday 20 November

Leinster club SHC semi-finals

O'Loughlin Gaels (Kilkenny) 3-17 Oulart-The Ballagh (Wexford) 0-17

Cuala (Dublin) 1-19 St Mullins (Carlow) 1-7

Munster club SHC final

Ballyea (Clare) 1-21 Glen Rovers (Cork) 2-10

Connacht club IFC final

Westport (Mayo) 1-9 Ballinamore (Leitrim) 0-7

Connacht club JFC final

Louisburgh (Mayo) 2-9 Creggs (Roscommon) 0-11

Ulster club IHC final

Cloughmills (Antrim) 1-11 Eoghan Rua (Derry) 2-6


Saturday 26 November

Leinster club IFC final

St Colmcilles (Meath) v Rosemount (Westmeath), Pairc Tailteann, 2pm

Sunday 27 November

Connacht club SFC final

St Brigid's (Roscommon) v Corofin (Galway), Pairc Sean Mac Diarmada, 2pm

Leinster club SFC semi-finals

Sean O'Mahonys (Louth) v Rhode (Offaly), Drogheda, 2pm

Mullinalaghta (Longford) v St Vincent's (Dublin), Glennon Bros Pearse Park, 2pm

Munster club SFC final

Dr Crokes (Kerry) v The Nire (Waterford), Mallow, 3.30pm

Ulster club SFC final

Slaughtneil (Derry) v Kilcoo (Down), Athletic Grounds, 2.30pm

Munster club IFC final

Adare (Limerick) v Kenmare (Kerry), Mallow, 1.30pm

Ulster club IFC final

Donaghmoyne (Monaghan) v Pomeroy (Tyrone), Pairc Esler, 2.30pm

Ulster club JFC final

Blackhill (Monaghan) v Rock (Tyrone), Pairc Esler, 12.30pm


Sunday 27 November

All-Ireland Junior Club Camogie Championship Final

Johnstownbridge (Kildare) v Scariff Ogonnelloe (Clare), St. Brendan's Park, Birr, 2.15pm

Back to Blogs